The Creme Filling of Mrs. O.

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

The Creme Filling of Mrs. O.

Born: May 29, 1956 in Springfield, Oregon

Family: I have a husband, Mike, who is a merchant marine. We've been married for 34 years. We have a girl and a boy. Faye, our oldest, is 26 and Pim is 23. My son is currently at home but will be returning to  Diego Garcia, an island in the middle of the Indian Ocean, at the end of October.  Both my son and my daughter have followed their father’s footsteps and work on cargo ships. My daughter is currently halfway through the Camino del San Ignacio in Spain.   My mother and father are no longer living, but I still have five sisters and a brother who live on the West coast.


Education: I graduated from Springfield High School in 1974. Soon after graduation, I attended Lane Community College and then the University of Oregon. I returned to college almost 25 years later. I attended Grays Harbor College to get a few required classes for the WSU teachers’ program. I graduated with a bachelor's degree in education in 2002 and began my teaching career at Miller the same year.


Before I Was a Teacher: I was a stay-at-home mom.  I  quit my job as a letter carrier in Seattle to stay home with my first child. Before working for the post office, I had many jobs. I got my first official job when I was fifteen. I started  working at a place called Hamburger Dans. It was a little, silver trailer that served the world’s best hamburgers.Even before that, I worked in the strawberry and bean fields every summer to earn money for my school clothes. I have had many jobs in my life from working at a radio station to filing medical records at a hospital to the most boring job ever: a traveling phone booth cleaner.

Hobbies/Interests: As a language arts teacher, it goes without saying that I love to read. I love to go to the beach and bask in the sun. I am a rock collector, and I love to play card and board games. I used to play video games but lost my edge when the Sega system became passé. I love to travel although I haven’t had much chance to do so. When I was younger, I was involved in sports of all kinds. Besides the usual team sports, I took karate, yoga, fencing, and even sky-diving.

Favorite Foods: Thai, Indian, Mexican, seafood, Italian (which of course includes PIZZA). Lately, I have tried Afghani, Somali, Egyptian, and Moroccan, and I may have to add them into my favorites. Overall, I love spicy ethnic cuisine! I also appreciate good raw food and vegetarian cuisine.


Favorite Books:  American Gods by Neil Gaiman,  Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss,
Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand, The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R. Tolkein, and almost anything by Tom Robbins, Herman Hesse, or Kurt Vonnegut, Jr. just to name a few. Some of my favorite young adult books are the Harry Potter series, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian  by Sherman Alexie, and almost anything written by Walter Dean Myers, Gary Soto, Lois Lowry, or Gary Paulsen.

Favorite Music: I admit that I am stuck in the late 60’s and 70’s. I love Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, John Prine, Van Morrison, Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, and a bunch more people of whom you have probably never heard. I do appreciate all types of music though and even listen to Rap.